for attending the

IRMMW-THz 2013

in Mainz on the Rhine

It was a great pleasure for us to host this conference.
The next conference will be held 2014 from September 14 to 19 in Tucson.

About the conference

The International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves (IRMMW-THz), is the oldest and largest continuous forum devoted to the science and technology of long-wavelength radiation. The scope of the conference includes all scientific and technological activities which involve the long-wavelength region of the electromagnetic spectrum. This covers a very wide range of disciplines, encompassing everything from micro- and nano-scale structures to large-scale accelerators and tokamaks and their applications. Presentations at this conference may address issues ranging from basic physics, chemistry, and materials science to applications in energy, communications, imaging, and more.

History of the conference

Founded in the mid-1970's as the International Conference on Submillimeter Waves and their Applications, the conference continues to grow to include an ever broader scope of activities. The conference and its long standing accompanying monthly publication, now known as the Journal of Infrared, Millimeter and Terahertz Waves (JIMT), were among the very first scientific outlets for the burgeoning field of far-infrared research. In 2004, the original conference series - by then known as the International Conference on Infrared and Millimeter Waves (IRMMW) - joined up with the International Conference on THz Electronics to form the Joint 29th International Conference on Infrared and Millimeter Waves and the 12th International Conference on Terahertz Electronics (IRMMW-THz 2004). In 2008 the conference name was shortened to the 33rd International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter and Terahertz Waves, keeping the same general acronym: IRMMW-THz 20XX. On May 7, 2009 the International Society of Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves was officially incorporated. The society was formed to give a permanent home to the International Organizing Committee (IOC) for IRMMW-THz, to formalize the role of the IOC in maintaining the current conference series, and to link technically with JIMT. The current membership of the IOC can be found here. In addition, the Society administers the Kenneth J. Button Prize, awarded annually for outstanding contributions to the science of the electromagnetic spectrum. The conference alternates among Europe, Asia and North America on a three-year cycle. In 2010, the 35th conference was held in Rome, Italy, and in 2011 the location of the 36th conference was Houston, USA. The location of the 37th conference was Wollongong, Australia.