Jump to: Exceptional Service Award | Student Award

Kenneth J Button Prize

Call for nominations for the Kenneth J Button Prize for 2014

... can be found here. 2014 Prize Nominations will be due on April 1, 2013, the closing date for abstracts for the IRMMW-THz conference in Mainz, Germany.

Winner of the 2013 Kenneth J Button Prize: Dr. Kiyomi Sakai

The 2013 Kenneth J Button Prize is awarded to Dr. Kiyomi Sakai of NICT for "Outstanding contributions to the development of a wide range of far-infrared and spectroscopic techniques, with special emphasis on terahertz time-domain spectroscopy." Dr. Kiyomi Sakai is currently a visiting professor at the Research Center for Development of Far-Infrared Region, University of Fukui and also a Guest Expert Researcher and advisor at the National Institute of Information and Communications Technology (NICT). He has been interested in a wide range of problems in the far-infrared (FIR) / terahertz (THz) spectral region and has contributed to the development of FIR optical components, Fourier transform spectroscopy (FTS), FIR-laser spectroscopy, FIR plasma diagnosis, rocket-borne observations of the cosmic background radiation, superconducting mixes, and terahertz time-domain spectroscopy (THz-TDS). Among these, FTS and THz-TDS are especially emphasized. He has co-authored more than 200 papers in refereed journals and proceedings.
Dr. Sakai will give a plenary talk in Mainz.

Description of the prize

The Kenneth J Button Prize is awarded annually at the International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter and Terahertz Waves in recognition of outstanding contributions to the Science of the Electromagnetic Spectrum. The Prize is named after the founder of the Conference Series and is administered by the Institute of Physics in London. It consists of a bronze medal, a certificate and a cash prize of £2000. At each annual meeting of the Conference, the Kenneth J Button Prize Committee will meet to consider the nominations that have been submitted and will elect the recipient of the Medal and Prize for the following year. The presentation will be made at the following annual meeting of the Conference and the recipient will normally be invited to give a plenary lecture at that meeting.

Brief history of the price

In 1990 an award called "The Infrared and Millimeter Wave Prize", to be awarded “for outstanding contributions to the field of infrared and millimeter waves", was initiated by the Program Council (now known as the International Organizing Committee) and awarded in the first instance to Kenneth J Button, founder of the conference series. The following year it was agreed by the Program Council to rename the Prize “The Kenneth J Button Prize" in recognition of Ken Button's outstanding contributions to the Infrared and Millimeter Wave Community, both as a scientist and as the initiator and driving force of this series of conferences. The criterion for awarding the Prize was later changed to its present form: “for outstanding contributions to the science of the electromagnetic spectrum”.

Nomination procedure

Any scientist active in the field of the Conference may make a nomination for the K J Button Prize. The closing date for receipt of nominations by the Institute of Physics in London each year will be the same as the deadline for submission of abstracts to the conference, normally about six months before the conference. The exact date each year can be found in the annual Conference Digest and on this website. The closing date will be strictly observed. Any nominations received after that date will be carried forward to the following year. 2014 Prize Nominations will be due on April 1, 2013, the closing date for abstracts for the IRMMW-THz conference in Mainz, Germany. To nominate a colleague, please click here for the nomination instructions.

Past prize winners

The Kenneth J Button Prize
2013 K Sakai
2012 G Nusinovich
2011 D Grischkowsky
2010 D B Rutledge
2009 F Keilmann
2008 A Litvak
2007 T J Parker
2006 X C Shen
2005 N C Luhmann, Jr
2004 M F Kimmitt
2003 S G Liu
2002 A Hadni
2001 K R Chu
2000 M Thumm
1999 A J Sievers
1998 K Mizuno
1997 Special bronze medal to B Lax
1997 P L Richards
1996 M I Petelin
1995 R J Temkin
1994 F K Kneubuhl
1993 J-I Nishizawa
1992 D H Martin
1991 M von Ortenberg

The Infrared and Millimeter Wave Prize
1990 K J Button

Exceptional Service Award

Professor Michael von Ortenberg, Humboldt University, Germany is the recipient of the 2013 IRMMW-THz Society Exceptional Service Award for "Exceptional service to the IRMMW-THz conference series." Professor von Ortenberg will receive his award at the 38th IRMMW-THz conference in Mainz, Germany, Sept. 1-6, 2013.

CALL for Nominations for the 2014 IRMMW-THz Society Exceptional Service Award

Nominations are being accepted for the 2014 IRMMW-THz Society Exceptional Service award. The award recognizes long term service by an individual to the IRMMW-THz community in general and/or to the IRMMW-THz Society. Any member of the conference community may submit a nomination. The nomination should be accompanied by a short (one paragraph) write up that details why the candidate deserves the award and should be sent via email to the IRMMW-THz Society General Secretary (phs@caltech.edu) at least one month prior to IRMMW-THz 2013 in Mainz (and preferably before August 1). Nominations will be considered at the IRMMW-THz Society Board Meeting in Mainz. The winner will receive a registration fee waiver for next year's conference and will be awarded a plaque or certificate at the 39th IRMMW-THz conference in Tucson, Arizona.

Student Award

This year, the IRMMW-THz Society is sponsoring an award for the best paper presented by a graduate student. To be eligible, the student must be enrolled in an accredited degree program, progressing towards a PhD. The student must be the first author on the paper, and must present the work at the conference. When you submit your abstract, you will be able to check a box indicating that you wish to be considered for this award. If your submission is accepted for presentation at the conference, your PhD supervisor will be required to submit a letter affirming your status as a graduate student in good standing, and describing your contribution to the work presented in the submitted paper. A PDF copy of the PhD supervisor letter can be submitted electronically to the conference email at: .
Student submissions will be reviewed by an Award Committee, and several candidates will be selected to present their work to the Committee at a special session during the conference, for final selection of the winner. The award will consist of a cash prize to be presented at the conference.